OHFA Board approves more than $6 million in funding for affordable housing developments


COLUMBUS The Ohio Housing Finance Agency (OHFA) Board approved over $5.21 million of funding through the Housing Development Assistance Program (HDAP) and $1 million in funding through the Housing Development Loan (HDL) Program. The HDAP is funded by the federal HOME program and the Ohio Housing Trust Fund (OHTF). The HDL Program is funded through unclaimed funds from the Ohio Department of Commerce.

The projects and amount of funding each will receive are as follows:

Campbell Homes (Fairfield Township, Highland County) – Highland County Community Action Organization, Inc will receive a $495,000 HDAP (OHTF) loan to construct 10 single-family homes. All homes will be equipped with energy efficient windows, a complete Energy Star-compliant kitchen appliance package and a two-car attached garage. Potential homeowners will be required to complete homeownership classes before closing on the homes.

Fairfield/Hocking Habitat Project (Lancaster, Fairfield County and Falls Township, Hocking County) – Habitat for Humanity of Fairfield County will receive a $218,545 HDAP (OHTF) loan to construct four single-family homes, three in Lancaster and one in Falls Township. Each home will include a range, refrigerator and a washer/dryer hookup. Habitat for Humanity of Fairfield County requires that the families chosen for the homes complete a 50-hour homebuyer education course.

Franklin Landing (Franklin Township, Clermont County) – Clermont 20/20, Inc. will receive a $546,400 HDAP (OHTF) loan to construct seven single-family homes in the Village of Felicity. These seven homes are the first phase of a 28-home subdivision. Each unit will include Energy Star appliances, six-panel interior doors, garden tub, oak and/or maple cabinets and a washer/dryer hookup.

Washington Homes Homeownership (Akron, Summit County) – The East Akron Neighborhood Development Corporation will receive a $638,000 HDAP (OHTF) loan to construct nine single-family homes in Akron. Each home will be equipped with Energy Star appliances and a variety of Universal Design features. These homes will be built adjacent to a 2007 housing credit project being developed by East Akron Neighborhood Development Corporation that will provide 40 single-family lease-purchase homes.

Athens MHA Preservation (Athens, Athens County) – The Athens Metropolitan Housing Authority (MHA) will receive a $700,000 HDAP (OHTF) loan to rehabilitate 18 units in Athens County. The funding will be used to preserve the existing units, which range from one to four bedrooms. Athens MHA will replace the carpeting and flooring as well as repaint all the units. Some of the additional repairs that will vary by building include: landscaping, replacing window screens and shutters, replacing roofs, replacing gutters and downspouts, and treating for mold growth.

Capitol Crossing (Frankfort, Ross County) – Housing Services Alliance, Inc. will receive a $409,485 HDAP (OHTF) grant to construct a one-story, 15-unit building for households with a member that is 55 years of age and older. Each unit will include a utility room with a washer/dryer hookup, a patio and additional storage space. The project will include a community room and an on-site rental management office. A supportive service coordinator will be provided by the CAC of Fayette County to create a residents’ association, to create and coordinate programs and activities and to refer residents to service agencies.

The Point Villas, Phase II (South Point, Lawrence County) – The Ironton and Lawrence County Area Community Action Organization will receive a $750,000 HDAP (OHTF) loan to construct eight homes in Perry Township. Two of the homes will be available for households with a member with mental or developmental disabilities and one home will be fully accessible. Each of the homes are equipped with a one-car garage, an energy efficient stove, window coverings and ceramic tile flooring. This is the second of three phases of development.

Woodside Village (Toledo, Lucas County) – Preferred Properties, Inc. will receive a $650,000 HDAP (OHTF) grant to construct two two-story elevator buildings in Toledo. In the development, the 12 units will serve adults with mobility and/or sensory impairments and/or mental and development disabilities. Each of the units will include provisions for installation of automatic door operators and hearing adaptive equipment as well as certain design features to reduce noise between apartments. In addition, the community will include supportive services staff that is on-call to provide coverage 24 hours a day.

Kensington Square Apartments (Elyria, Lorain County) – New Kensington Square Associates, LLC will receive a $250,000 HDAP (OHTF) loan to acquire and rehabilitate 192 units in 16 buildings. Each building will receive new entry doors and storm doors, replacement of existing siding and the replacement of all roofs, gutters and downspouts. Each unit will have new cabinets and upgrades to the electrical, plumbing and HVAC systems. The development will include an on-site laundry facility, picnic area and a community building. In 2007, OHFA awarded $263,234 in federal housing tax credits to this development.

Mount Vernon Senior Housing (Mount Vernon, Knox County) – LEADS will receive a $550,000 HDAP (OHTF) loan and a $1 million HDL to construct a 32-unit senior community. The cottage-style units will be available for residents 55 years of age or older and include a porch, attached one-car garage and washer/dryer hookups. LEADS will provide supportive services to residents. In 2007, OHFA awarded $310,450 in federal housing tax credits to this development.

OHFA utilizes federal and state resources to provide housing opportunities for families and individuals through programs designed to create, preserve, and manage affordable housing throughout the State of Ohio. The Agency is a self-supporting quasi-public agency governed by an eleven-member board, nine of whom are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Two additional seats on the board, by statute, are reserved for the Director of Development and the Director of Commerce or their designees, and both serve as ex officio voting members.

Previous articleEfforts to redevelop Cleveland area vacant properties approved for funding by OHFA Board
Next articleOhioans encouraged to explore housing options during Homeownership Month